Our Team

Staff and Board

Proud to be environmental stewards through conservation and sustainable practices

Michelle Skedgell

Executive Director

Email: skedgellm@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Sara Syswerda

Education Director

Education Assistant: Jim Kolar

Email: syswerdas@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Cathy Hart-Jansma

Development Director

Email: hartjansmac@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Mel Bowman

Human Resources Director

Email: bowmanm@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Rick Hemerling

Finance Director

Email: hemerlingr@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Nancy Cotant

Finance Assistant

Email: cotantn@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Sara Lien Edelman

Communications Coordinator

Email: lienedelmans@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Barb Matyasic

Marketing Coordinator

Email: matyasicb@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Matt Dykstra

Field Station Manager

Email: dykstram@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Corey Lucas

Stewardship Manager

Email: lucasc@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Ricki Oldenkamp

Stewardship Coordinator

Email: oldenkampr@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Ellen Holste

Program Coordinator

Email: holstee@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Michelle Quesnel

Hospitality Coordinator

Email: quesnelm@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Tadd Wattles

Facilities Manager

Facilities Assistant: Todd Boyer

Housekeeping: Meagan Eddy

Email: wattlest@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Dan Belson


Assistant Chef: Melissa Baker

Kitchen Assistant: Cheryl Easey

Email: belsond@cedarcreekinstitute.org


Foundation Board

The Pierce Foundation is overseen by a group of dedicated individuals.
Secure Board Member Log-In

Carl Schoessel, President


Jim DeCamp, Vice President

National Sales Manager, Flexfab

Jim Toburen, Treasurer


Willard L. "Joe" Pierce, Trustee


Dr. Carrie Duits, Trustee

Superintendent, Hastings Area School System

Dan Birchfield, Trustee

Pastor, First Presbyterian Church of Hastings

Matthew Zimmerman, Trustee

Partner, Varnum Law

Hilary Snell, Emeritus Trustee

Varnum Law