Our Team

Staff and Board

Proud to be environmental stewards through conservation and sustainable practices

Michelle Skedgell

Executive Director


Email: skedgellm@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Sara Syswerda

Education Director


Email: syswerdas@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Cathy Hart-Jansma

Development Director


Email: hartjansmac@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Mel Bowman

Human Resources Director


Email: bowmanm@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Rick Hemerling

Finance Director


Email: hemerlingr@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Nancy Cotant

Finance Assistant


Email: cotantn@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Sara Lien Edelman

Communications Coordinator


Email: lienedelmans@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Barb Matyasic

Marketing Coordinator


Email: matyasicb@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Matt Dykstra

Field Station Manager


Email: dykstram@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Corey Lucas

Stewardship Manager

Email: lucasc@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Ellen Holste

Program Coordinator


Email: holstee@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Jim Kolar

Education Assistant

Email: kolarj@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Michelle Quesnel

Hospitality Coordinator


Email: quesnelm@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Tadd Wattles

Facilities Manager

Facilities Assistant: Todd Boyer

Housekeeping: Melissa Baker


Email: wattlest@cedarcreekinstitute.org

Dan Belson

Chef


Email: belsond@cedarcreekinstitute.org

 

Foundation Board

The Pierce Foundation is overseen by a group of dedicated individuals.
Secure Board Member Log-In

Carl Schoessel, President

Retired

Jim DeCamp, Vice President

National Sales Manager, Flexfab

Jim Toburen, Treasurer

Retired

Willard L. "Joe" Pierce, Trustee

Retired

Dr. Carrie Duits, Trustee

Superintendent, Hastings Area School System

Dan Birchfield, Trustee

Pastor, First Presbyterian Church of Hastings

Matthew Zimmerman, Trustee

Partner, Varnum Law

 
Hilary Snell, Emeritus Trustee

Varnum Law